Socialist Italian MEP wins presidency of the European Parliament

July 3, 2019

An Italian MEP from the Centre-left Socialists group has won the presidency of the European Parliament.

David-Maria Sassoli is a former journalist who was first elected to the European Parliament in 2009. He won three hundred and forty five votes (345) out of six hundred and sixty seven (667) valid votes cast.

MEPs will this afternoon vote for the fourteen vice presidents of the Parliament. Candidates include the Fine Gael MEP Mairead McGuinness who served as the first vice president in the previous Parliament.

Her party colleague Sean Kelly says he’s optimistic she’ll win one of the vp positions.

Out words: vice president again

Dur: 00:14